Updates

I’m already a quarter through my edits. A QUARTER. Assuming all is right in the world, I should have a finished, publishable book sometime in August. My inner child is peeing herself with excitement!

*cough* I’m very excited.

See that right there? Professionalism. It’s the reason I don’t have a career as a Web writer. All of my work has been freelance. If you haven’t written regularly for a big name, you’re not considered professional. You’re still a sophomore. At least, this is what one particular industry pro said to me last week. I know of a few freelance writers who would take this comment and laugh all the way to the bank. Why is everyone so obsessed with robotic, overachieving professionalism? Most of the world’s disruptive inventions were created by people who went into their endeavors blind and underqualified. But I digress.

This puts my timeline into real perspective. There are a few things I need to get moving on. In hindsight, I wish I’d written up a timeline before now so that I could visualize this process. I probably wouldn’t have been able to, though. I’m learning as I go along.

But you know what? I’m not going to kill myself over my deadline. My personal, non-contractual deadline. Why?

I have a lot going on in my life right now.
Just how my job doesn’t define my life, neither does my book. I won’t let it stress me out and make me rush. The challenge is actually quite fun.

Anyway, that’s all. I’ll probably check in around halfway through my edits.

Leave a Reply

